Department of
Basic Sciences

Faculty of Dental Sciences

Faculty of Dental Sciences

University of Peradeniya

Division Information

Department of Basic Sciences comprises 4 divisions, namely General Anatomy, Dental Anatomy,Physiology, Biochemistry.

General Anatomy deals with the naked-eye and the microscopic appearance and structure of the human body, Physiology provides an understanding of its function. The study of the function of the body at an organ and cellular level is called Biochemistry, and includes Food and nutrition and some chemical reactions that occur in the human tissues, and their role in health and illness. Dental Anatomy is the study of all aspects of the human dentition, while Oral Biology includes the study of the rest of mouth and surrounding areas.