Department of Community Dental Health

Faculty of Dental Sciences

Faculty of Dental Sciences

University of Peradeniya

Division Information

Department of Community Dental Health comprises 3 divisions, namely Community Dentistry, Orthodontics and Peadodontics.

Community Dentistry views oral health and disease from the point of view of the larger community rather than the individual. The discipline tries to make students realize the magnitude of the responsibility they bear in the provision of oral health care to the community in which they live.
Orthodontics consists of the study of the normal variation of form and function of Oro -facial tissues (both hard and soft) and the way and the extent to which these variations interact to cause malocclusion.
Paedodontics aims to teach the basic theoretical and clinical concepts of keeping good oral hygiene and behaviour management of a child/adolescent patient in the dental clinic.