Department of
Basic Sciences

Faculty of Dental Sciences

Faculty of Dental Sciences

University of Peradeniya

  • slide1
  • slide2
  • slide3
  • slide4

An Overview of the Department

The Department of Basic Sciences was established in 1995. It comprises of four divisions namely Anatomy, Biochemistry, Dental Anatomy and Physiology. The undergraduate dental students spend their first year of study in this department and undergo a two semester course consisting of lectures, practicals, tutorials and dissections. The examinations are conducted at the end of each semester. Teaching of post graduate students and dental auxiliaries are also undertaken by the department. The mission of the department of Basic Sciences is to promote oral health in Sri Lanka by providing a strong scientific basis for the study and practice of dentistry.